Posted by: arnegrim | January 7, 2009

Where are my treasures…?

I was struck with a thought the other day. I had just read about a German businessman who committed suicide because he was suffering severe losses to his fortune due to the current economy. It got me to thinking a little more about where I have my treasures stored. Houses, money, possessions in general… all these things are wonderful blessings while we are here on earth… but that’s as far as it goes. A relationship with God on the other hand… that is a blessing here on earth and beyond… for all eternity! What did the German businessman see as his treasures…? So, I’ve been taking a little closer look at all my ‘things’… including my health and family… and trying to put it all into perspective.

1 Timothy 6:17 Instruct those who are rich in this present world not to be conceited or to fix their hope on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly supplies us with all things to enjoy.

Responses

  1. Amen! THINGS that can cause us to live or die by our own hands are called idols.

    Since it’s the new year I’ve been thinking about what new years ‘resolutions’ I should try to implement. What changes I would like to see happen this year. Well this is what I’ve had rattling around in my head the last few days….. I’m determined to like what I have and only have what I like. In other words I’m going to strive to use what I already have and use it well along with, and probably my biggest challenge, get rid of and donate the stuff that I don’t use or like anymore. No hanging on to stuff just because.

  2. Mmm… the German Billionaire story really moved me to think too.
    We’ve gone from one financial storm to another over the last 15 years… but our family has remained strong and happy and healthy. We are blessed. It’s easy to look at numbers, take that with you, and use it as a measurement – how you measure up with other folks your age or in the same field of work. But… over the past few years we’ve determined to take those numbers and thank God for them. THIS is what HE has BLESSED us with. When we look at it that way – it’s really hard to complain!
    As far as letting go of things… this year is my year for that on a very personal level. I realized recently how much I have included in my life that was never really part of God’s plan or my interests. So… I’m doing some soul-searching… and purging.

    “gabbailey” – I’ve never heard idols explained so clearly before. Thank you!

    -Jennifer-


Leave a Reply

Categories

